Skip to content
Mrs. Wright introduced her first grade students to a multi-sensory task to accompany a new phonics program. Students write a letter in Playdoh and then make the sound that the letter makes. This lets the students take a hands on learning approach to letter and sound recognition.  Submitted by Elizabeth Gaither.
The following SWHS students were selected as UCA All-American Cheerleaders and have been invited to perform in London and Disney World.  Tiffany Auer, Mia Bennett, Mackenzie Brundage, McKenna Graham, Cameron Graham, Katy Price, and Daley Goodman. Submitted by Barbara Stratton
Fourth grade students at MSE are working on developing a growth mindset. Students are currently learning about growth mindset by analyzing quotes, completing challenges, and discovering what perseverance looks like in their everyday lives. Submitted by Pam Jones.
By Florida Law, the Tetanus, Diptheria and Pertussis (Tdap) vaccination is required for students prior to entering the 7th grade.
You may choose to have your student vaccinated by their primary care physician or at the Florida Department of Health in Walton County.  This immunization is provided at the health department with no cost to the parent.  Vaccination appointments for the Florida Department of Health in Walton County may be scheduled by calling (850) 892-8015.
Please turn in proof of immunization to the school prior to the start of the new school year.

Master Board Training

July 14, 2016

The Walton County School Board Members received a plaque recognizing them for their successful completion of the Master Board Training.

(left to right:  Board Member Mark Davis, Board Member Gail Smith, Superintendent Carlene Anderson, Board Member William (Bill) Eddins, Tina Pinkoson, Coordinator of Professional Development/Florida School Boards Association, Board Member Jason Catalano, Board Member Kim Kirby)

The Master Board Program, governance team training for the school board and superintendent, is designed to strengthen the leadership team’s ability to work effectively, efficiently, and collectively as a governance body while maintaining a focus on student achievement and factors contributing to the success of schools.  Opportunities are provided for the team to discuss and improve or enhance those important interpersonal issues which are essential to team functioning.

Florida's School Public Accountability Reports (SPARs) have been generated to comply with federal legislation that requires annual report cards on the educational progress of schools, school districts, and the state. The School Public Accountability Report contains several types of data (indicators) designed to inform parents and the general public about the progress of Florida's public schools. This report meets public reporting requirements and provides certain additional information of interest on the status of Florida's schools.

Link -

Emerald Coast Technical College (ECTC) is facilitating a four day CIW:  Internet Business Associate (IBA) training for Walton County School District's secondary Career Technical Education (CTE) teachers the week of June 6th.  The training is being facilitated by ECTC instructor Leslie Harrison.  The objective is to prepare the participants to take and pass the IBA industry certification exam and provide them with instructional strategies for preparing their students for the industry certification exam as well.  Students enrolled in the Digital Information Technology course for the 2016-2017 school year will be provided the opportunity to prepare for the exam.  To learn more about the IBA exam, please visit

Submitted by Laura Smith, Walton County School District

Superintendent recognized Paxton School for their national ranking by receiving the status of Bronze Medal in U.S. News and World Report – 2016 Best High Schools

Pictured left to right:  Receiving the award for Paxton, teacher Emily Powell, teacher Kathryn Jordan, Superintendent Anderson, and Principal Cindy Neal. 

Student representatives for Paxton High School who attended the Board Meeting were Connor Williams, Krysten Pazik, Montana Armstrong, and Summer Padgett.

Bronze Medal Award Paxton



Photo courtesy of the DeFuniak Herald