Skip to content
On May 9, 2019, Ms. April Wilkes, Executive Director of The St. Joe Community Foundation, presented a $20,000 check to the Walton Middle School football program. Coach Dennie Smith wrote the grant in hopes of upgrading training and safety equipment for the team. The gear the team has been using is outdated and in short supply, so Coach Smith set out on a mission to upgrade the equipment to reduce the risk of concussion or serious injury to his players. So far, the program has purchased the following: a five man sled to help improve blocking, a one man tackling sled to help improve tackling, better helmets to protect from injury, integrated practice pants, protective pads, and a medical kit. Over the next year, the coaching staff will continue to use the funds to make improvements to their program. WMS can't thank Ms. Wilkes and The St. Joe Foundation enough for their generous support of the school's football team. Go Warriors! Submitted by Kristen Nelson

Seacoast High School students Knoxye Grinstead, Reagan Wells, Mary Katherine Rookis, and Sierra Smith were recognized at the Walton County School Board meeting Tuesday evening, May 21, 2019, for their First Place winning performance at the Florida History Day state competition. 
The theme for this year's competition was Triumph and Tragedy in History. The Seacoast High School team performed an original courtroom setting skit about the Triumphs and Tragedies of the Lowell Mills Factory system. They will represent the state of Florida at the National History Day competition held at the University of Maryland, June 9-13, 2019.

Photo credit: Jenna Bailey

Congratulations to Walton High’s Class of 2019!  Thank you to everyone that came to support these seniors at the graduation ceremony Monday night (May 20).  "Once a Brave, always a Brave!” Submitted by Christy English

Freeport High School finished first place in the FHSAA’s Academic Team Championship points total for 1A, thus making them STATE CHAMPIONS! The FHSAA Academic Team Champion recognition program honors teamwork not only in competition, but in the classroom as well. The program recognizes teams in each of the Association’s sanctioned and recognized sports, naming an Academic Team Champion in each classification. Congratulations to the entire faculty and staff and all of the dedicated student-athletes for earning this prestigious honor. Submitted by Patty Woodard